Jun B's cross the line after extra time in Glenmore.

posted 19 Aug 2013, 00:44 by Unknown user   [ updated 22 Aug 2013, 01:02 ]
It was great to come out on top of this thrilling 1/4 final clash . It was tense and exciting end to end stuff which finished 2.25 to 3.20. Scorers Padraig Whelan  11(8F) Thomas O'Donnell 2.03 Jamie McGragh 3 Dane Mangan 2 Mick Dunne 2 Ger Walsh 2 Adam Kennedy 1 Sean Dowling 1.. Full report to follow.

Match Report- Barrie Henriques

Graignamanagh 2-25
Mooncoin 3-20

There was a storm of entertainment in Páirc na Reatha, Glenmore on Friday
evening last, as Graignamanagh and Mooncoin slugged it out for supremacy in
a very entertaining Junior B Championship. It was end-to-end stuff as both
sides, very evenly matched, tested the resolve of their opponents in a game
that needed extra time to decide a victor.
Mooncoin had a brilliant opening ten minutes when they troubled the umpire
to wave the green flag twice, courtesy of the predatorial instincts of AJ
Wall, Joe Kearns and young Kieran Dunphy, however the early loss of Niall O’
Hanlon on their half back line was a blow.
Slowly, but very obviously, the Graig lads scraped their way into the game,
and by the 20th minute they were but a single point adrift. The reasons for
such a surge can be fairly laid at the doorstep of free-taker, Padraig
Whelan, Michael Dunne, Dane Mangan, Adam Kennedy, and Ger Walsh.
Mooncoin were finding life a difficult occupation trying to overwhelm a
Graignamanagh defence in which the likes of Jim O’Donnell, James McCabe,
Nick O’Donnell, and Diarmuid O’Neill stood rock solid in defence of their
However Dunphy was causing plenty of anxiety for them on the Mooncoin half
forward line. He grabbed a brace of good points in the 21st, and 23rd
minutes. Those coupled with a similar return from corner forward, Robbie
Cody helped to steer the Mooncoin ship through some choppy waters, and
keeping their noses ahead as the game entered the final few minutes of an
exciting first half.
At half time Mooncoin were leaders by 2-7 to Graignamanagh’s 0-11
The game was very competitive, and very tight.
It was about to get a whole deal tighter in a frantic second half.
A goal by AJ. Wall in the 35th  minute increased the Mooncoin advantage to
three points. A superb goal by Tom O’Donnell in the 42nd minute left two
points between the sides. There were still a few points between the sides as
the game throbbed into the final eight minutes. The gap was two points at 55
minutes. A Tom O’Donnell point narrowed it down to a single point with three
minutes plus seconds left. Points by John Fitzgerald, and Kieran Dunphy at
the59 and 60 minute markers left Graig three adrift with the Referee looking
at his watch. Cometh the hour, cometh the man, and Tom O’Donnell stormed the
Mooncoin battlements with one last effort, clattered it to the net and we
were in extra time.
At the conclusion of the first period of extra time, Mooncoin were ahead. A
necklace of three super points by Whelan (free) and man-of-the-match, Tom O’
Donnell flopped Graignamanagh men on the right side of the finishing wire by
the slenderest of margins.
Hard for anyone to lose, but Graignamanagh were thrilled to be the victor on
this occasion.


Graignamanagh:Tom O’Donnell (2-5); Padraig Whelan (0-10, seven frees); Jamie
McGrath (0-3); Dane Mangan, Ger Walsh, Michael Dunne (0-2 each); Adam
Kennedy (0-1).

Mooncoin: Kieran Dunphy (1-3); AJ Wall, Joe Kearns, (1-1 each); John Phelan
(0-4, one free); Shane Walsh (0-3); John Fitzgerald (0-2, one free); Robbie
Cody, Steven Crowley (0-2 each); Eric Wall, Jack Ryan (0-1 each).

Graignamanagh: Ian Kavanagh, Liam Hearne, Jim O’Donnell, James Mc Cabe, Nick
O’Donnell, Diarmuid O’Neill, Sean Dowling, Tom O’Donnell, Adam Kennedy,
Jordan Brett, Padraig Whelan, Ger Walsh, Jamie McGrath, Michael Dunne, Dane
Subs (used): Patrick Dowling, Alan Foley.

Mooncoin: Liam Walsh, Niall Blanchfield, Tom Henebery, Ian Dunphy, Niall O’
Hanlon, Eamon Henebery, Andy Brennan, Liam “Mossy” Walsh, John Fitzgerald,
Johnny Phelan, Kieran Dunphy, Joe Kearns, AJ Wall, Robbie Cody.
Subs (used): Jack Ryan, Sean Walsh, Christy Walsh, Steven Crowley, Conor

Ref: John Bennett (Tullogher)